History - Year by year

Company history for the year 1939

During 1939

The 3rd Enfield Company.


March
The Company wins the Battalion Gymnastics competition.


Friday 3rd March
A shield carved out of wood, with the crest of The Boys' Brigade and the motto "Sure and Stedfast" is presented to the Company by the widow of the late Mr Norris Toms. The shield was presented to the founder of the Company in 1896, by Sgt H Hyde.


Wednesday 3rd May
The 49th annual Display takes place at Chase Side School.


Wednesday 3rd May to Saturday 6th May
The Royal Albert Hall Display takes place.


Wednesday 16th August to Saturday 2nd September
The Jubilee Camp takes place at Breen, Somerset, with 46 boys, 8 Officers and 9 staff. The camp is held early due to world events.


September
The Golden Jubilee session of the 3rd Enfield Company begins.


Sunday 3rd September
Great Britain enters into a World War.


Saturday 16th December
At the new Christ Church Hall, the 3rd Enfield holds a special Jubilee celebration. The hall is in a state of blackout due to wartime conditions. The Guest of Honour is Captain G Stanley Smith MC, and 160 people attend.

Keep up to date:

Latest news

North London Zone Badminton competition

Added on 11th February 2019

On Saturday 9th February the North London Zone Badminton competition took place at the Old Drill Hall in Enfield Town.
(Read full article)

3rd Enfield Quiz Night 2019 - a message of thanks

Added on 11th February 2019

We would like to say a huge thank you to everyone who supported our Quiz Night on Saturday 26th January 2019.
(Read full article)

North London Zone Swimming Gala

Added on 11th February 2019

On Saturday 19th January the North London Zone Swimming Gala was held at Southgate Leisure Centre.
(Read full article)

3rd Enfield Quiz Night 2019

Added on 21st December 2018

On Saturday 26th January 2019 the 3rd Enfield Boys' Brigade will be holding a fundraising Quiz Night.
(Read full article)

(View all news)