History - Year by year

Company history for the year 2004 - 150th anniversary of the birth of the founder of The Boys' Brigade

Saturday 28th February
The Company enters the Battalion Colours competition for the first time in a number of years, and comes sixth.

Monday 22nd March
The Company comes second in the North London Zone Single Rank Drill competition.

Sunday 28th March
The 3rd Enfield joins with the rest of Enfield Battalion for the Battalion Church Parade at Winchmore Hill Baptist Church, 10th Enfield headquarters.

April
Mr Steve Dickinson is appointed Secretary of The Boys' Brigade.

Saturday 3rd April
The joint football team of the 1st and 3rd Enfield wins the Battalion Senior 9-a-side Football League.

Saturday 24th April
London Band competitions: For the second year running, the 3rd Enfield enters the Devonshire Cup in a combined Band with the 1st Enfield. The Band also enters the District Open Band competition and the Don West Trophy for Musical Accuracy, coming second in all competitions. The Devonshire Cup, Musical Accuracy and Company Band competitions are all won by the 1st Hillingdon.

Monday 26th April
The annual Company Display and Presentation Evening is held at Christ Church Hall.

May
The Officers (Kevin Cowan and Adrian Bullock) enter the Waltham Walk Supervets competition and obtain fifth place.

Saturday 12th June
The Company wins the Battalion Athletics Small Companies Cup.

Sunday 4th July
The 3rd Enfield enters its first London District Colours competition in over 10 years and achieves third place.

Sunday 4th July
London District's annual Beating Retreat takes place at the Royal Hospital Chelsea, and features the 3rd Enfield in the London Massed Bugle Band.

Saturday 24th July to Saturday 31st July
The 3rd Enfield joins with the 10th Enfield on its Summer Camp for the fourth year running, which is attended by Sgt Tom Boorman and Cpl Rob Gardner from the 3rd. It is held at Beeston Regis in Norfolk.

Saturday 11th September
The 3rd Enfield Seniors join with the 10th Enfield, 11th Enfield and the 1st St Albans for a paintball activity day in Hertford. Those taking part are W/O Kevin Cowan, Sgt Tom Boorman, Cpl Rob Gardner, Cpl Tom Killey, Pte Tom Winfield and Pte Tom Fish.

Saturday 18th September
The Company is represented in the Battalion Band which leads the parade through Enfield Town to open the Enfield Town Show..

Saturday 2nd October
The Company enters the Battalion 5-a-side competition for the first time in two years and obtains second place.

Sunday 17th October
The Company's annual Enrolment Service takes place at Christ Church. Sgt Tom Boorman and Cpl Robert Gardner are awarded their President's Badges. Pte Tom Winfield is promoted to the rank of Lance Corporal.

Friday 29th October to Sunday 31st October
A Battalion Seniors trip to Blackpool takes place, with W/O Kevin Cowan and L/Cpl Tom Winfield attending from the 3rd.

Saturday 6th November
The Anchor Boys and Junior Section enjoy a day out at Legoland Windsor.

Saturday 6th November
The Battalion Badminton and Volleyball competitions take place, with the 3rd Enfield coming third in the former and getting knocked out in the second round of the latter.

Sunday 7th November
The Company enters an Enfield Battalion mini 5-a-side Football competition, and emerges victorious.

Sunday 14th November
The 3rd Enfield Band plays for the Royal British Legion (Southgate Chapter) at its Remembrance Service in the morning, and parades with the rest of the Battalion for Remembrance Sunday, where 22 boys represent the 3rd.

Saturday 27th November
The Company obtains fifth place in the Battalion Bowling competition.

Friday 3rd December
The Company wins the Battalion Quiz competition for the second year in a row with the team of Tom Boorman, Robert Gardner, Matt Hadden and Christopher Sanders.

Keep up to date:

Latest news

UK Parliament Week 2018

Added 16th November 2018
On Monday 12th November our Company Section and Seniors got involved in UK Parliament Week.
(Read full article)

Centenary of the end of World War I - Remembrance 100

Added 16th November 2018
Members of the 3rd Enfield have been taking part in events to commemorate the centenary of the end of World War I in 1918.
(Read full article)

London Massed Bugle Band in the Lord Mayor's Show

Added 16th November 2018
On Saturday 10th November the London Massed Bugle Band took part in the Lord Mayor's Show in the City of London.
(Read full article)

3rd Enfield Boys' Brigade Enrolment Service

Added 22nd October 2018
On Sunday 14th October the annual 3rd Enfield Boys' Brigade Enrolment Service took place at Christ Church.
(Read full article)

(View all news)