Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award (DofE) was officially launched in 1956, with members of The Boys’ Brigade having been involved in a pilot scheme for the award the previous year.

DofE is a voluntary, non-competitive programme of activities for young people aged between 14 and 24. It consists of four levels – Bronze, Silver and Gold – with participants undertaking activities in four sections – Volunteering, Physical, Skills and Expedition – as well as, at Gold level, a Residential.

The 3rd Enfield has at times included DofE as part of its programme, with several members having gained awards.

Note that this list may not be 100% complete as it is compiled using records we have at present. Where years are missing next to names they are currently unknown.


April 1987 – Matthew Nicholl
May 1989 – Timothy Wakeford
May 1989 – James Fryer
May 1989 – Simeon Layzell
May 1989 – James Knott
April 1991 – David Waite
April 1992 – Adam Gardner
April 1992 – Daniel Layzell
April 1992 – Stephen Stokes
April 1992 – Kevin Cowan
September 1992 – Michael Stamford


April 1987 – Andrew Mason
April 1987 – Rachel Wakeford
June 1988 – Ashley Clarke
June 1988 – Steven Wakeford